Recent Posts
SeC Gaming
the Lounge
New Lounge Topic
New Gaming Topic
We've moved to Discord

You are not connected. Please login or register

FRAPS: Major FPS drop during recording, even with low graphics. HELP!

+6
Ante
Pariah
kadaver21
The Adli Corporation
Metalzoic
Artimise Flare
10 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Artimise Flare

Artimise Flare

I'm still learning how to use fraps. What settings do you all use when recording?

Current PC specs:
Windows 7 64bit
Intel i7 3.20GHz
12Gb Kingston RAM
GeForce GTX570 SLI

All drivers are up to date.

Fraps settings:
Was running with vid capture at 60FPS (Dropped it to 30, have not tested it yet)
Full Size capture setting enabled
Sound capture settings:
Record Win7 Sound, Stereo

Am I doing something wrong? It's so bad that it gets me killed during my recordings some times. dropping to as low as 10 or 15 FPS. with an average of 40 FPS in certain areas. Heaven forbid that I have a bunch of jets/helicopters or tanks going over at the same time. Things get really ugly then.

I would use half size. Thats what I use and it fixed my problems.

Getting big FPS drops with FRAPS is normal and pretty much unavoidable.

Not that low though....I stay right at 30 playing BF3 while recording.

My specs

I7 at 3.2 ghz
GTX 580
12 gigs RAM
Windows & 64 bit

We are running basically the same thing.

Did you get it to work?

Artimise Flare

Artimise Flare

Haven't tried it yet. I'll let you know when I do.

Sounds like your hard drive, could I ask what your set up is?

Artimise Flare

Artimise Flare

Hard Drive wise, If I recall, I'm using a 1TB Western Digital hard drive, with a 500gb external. 281gb of free space is left, so it's not a space issue.

Metalzoic

Metalzoic

Artimise Flare wrote:Hard Drive wise, If I recall, I'm using a 1TB Western Digital hard drive, with a 500gb external. 281gb of free space is left, so it's not a space issue.

Sounds to me like the problem is that you're playing a PC game.

The Adli Corporation